Creamy Cajun Pasta with Smoked Sausage

Delicious.  Quick.  Easy.  My three favorite words to describe a weeknight dinner.  The husband is a fan of anything with the words “cajun” and “pasta” in the title, so when I saw this recipe, I knew I had to try it soon.  I’ve tried several different recipes for a cajun pasta before, but this one is the clear-cut winner!  The husband and I both loved this, and it will hit my dinner rotation frequently.  I did not have onions or garlic in the house (crazy, right?), so I omitted those and add a bit of garlic powder with the other seasonings.  I will definitely make sure I add the garlic and onion next time as it would make this dish even better.

Creamy Cajun Pasta with Smoked Sausage

1 box of penne pasta
1 cup half and half
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 tablespoons minced garlic
1/4 cup chopped onion
1 1/2 teaspoons of your favorite Cajun seasoning
1 1/2 teaspoons smoked paprika
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1/2 cup white wine or chicken broth
1 tablespoon tomato paste
1 1/2 teaspoons chopped parsley (I forgot to add this at the end!)
Parmesan cheese
1 (16-ounce) package turkey kielbasa, cut into bite-size pieces

In a large pot, boil water for pasta.

Brown kielbasa over medium heat in a large skillet. Once browned, transfer to a paper towel lined plate and set aside.

In the same large skillet heat oil over medium heat. Add onion and saute for approximately 2 minutes. Add garlic and cook for an additional 30 seconds or until fragrant. Meanwhile, boil pasta and cook until al dente.

Add white wine or chicken broth to skillet and scrape up any brown bits from the bottom. Let wine or broth reduce by half, about 2 minutes. Stir in Cajun seasoning, paprika, pepper, salt, and tomato paste.

Add half and half and heat to almost bubbling, then reduce heat to low. Allow the cream mixture to reduce by half, approximately 5 minutes.

Drain pasta and add to skillet. Add browned sausage and parsley, toss. Top with parmesan cheese.

Source:  Adapted from Southern Pink Lemonade, who got it from Cooks Like a Champion, originally adapted from Steamy Kitchen

5 thoughts on “Creamy Cajun Pasta with Smoked Sausage

  1. This sounds yummy! I’m like your husband – anything with the words cajun and pasta immediately piques my interest. Then adding sausage just makes it that much better :) I’ll have to give this one a try.

Leave a Reply

