CEiMB: Lemon-Garlic Marinated Pork Chops

This is my very first Craving Ellie in My Belly post!  I’m excited to cook along with everyone.  The husband and I are both painfully picky when it comes to food, and I’m hoping that this experience will encourage us to try some different, and healthy foods. 

This week’s recipe was chosen by Debbie from Dining with Debbie.   The original recipe was for lamb chops rather than pork chops, but I had two issues with the lamb chops.  One, they were crazy expensive at the grocery store ($11.59/pound!!!) and, two, I’ve never had lamb before and quite frankly, it doesn’t sound too appealing to me.  This marinade is amazing!  These were seriously the best pork chops we’ve ever had, and the toddler even ate almost an entire pork chop!  I would love to try this marinade on chicken as well.  It’s a great weeknight main dish that came together in a flash, and will definitely be in our rotation.  Enjoy!!

Lemon-Garlic Marinated Pork Chops

1 Tbsp olive oil
2 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
1/2 tsp finely grated lemon zest
2 Tbsp chopped fresh oregano or 2 tsp dried
6 cloves garlic, minced (about 2 Tbsp)
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper
4 boneless, center cut pork chops

Preheat the broiler, grill, or grill pan over medium heat. 

In a small bowl, stir together the oil, lemon juice and zest, oregano, garlic, salt and pepper.  Put the pork chops in a sealable plastic bag and pour the marinade over them.  Move the chops around in the bag so the marinade coats them well.  Seal the bag and marinate for 20 minutes to 1 hour at room temperature. 

Remove the chops from the marinade and discard the marinade.  Grill or broil the chops until cooked through.

Source:  Adapted from “The Food You Crave: Luscious Recipes for a Healthy Life” by Ellie Krieger, p. 190

3 thoughts on “CEiMB: Lemon-Garlic Marinated Pork Chops

  1. Erin says:

    Very tasty! I made this tonight for dinner. I made 4 chops..3 on the thick side and 1 on the thinner side. I think the next time I make this I will get some thinner chops. I think the marinade would soak in more..make sense?

    • The Rookie Baker says:

      I’m glad you liked them! I think we used thinner ones when we made this, so the short marinade time worked well.

Leave a Reply

