SMS: Orange Blueberry Muffins with Pecan Crumble

First, I want to say Happy Mother’s Day to all of the moms out there!  I hope everyone had as fabulous a day as I did. The husband and toddler spoiled me rotten.  It was wonderful🙂

This is my first week participating in the Sweet Melissa Sundays baking group.  The idea of the group is to bake every recipe in The Sweet Melissa Baking Book and share our thoughts and mouth-watering pictures.  I only wish I had joined at the beginning…I missed some great recipes, although I do plan to go back and try quite a few.  I’m hoping this challenge will inspire me to bake more often, and bake things outside of my comfort zone of basic cookies and boxed cake mixes. 

On to the recipe…this week’s recipe was for Orange Blueberry Muffins with Pecan Crumble and was chosen by Chaya of My Sweet and Savory.  All I can say is wow.  The muffins themselves are delicious with plenty of blueberries and a nice orange flavor as well.  They are taken to a whole new level of delicious with the addition of the pecan crumble.  Serioulsy yummy.  I almost cut back on the orange zest as the husband seemed skeptical about the flavor combination, but decided to follow the recipe as written.  Good thing I did, because the first thing he said after taking a bite was, “Damn, these are good!”  Muisc to my ears.  To get the recipe, check out Chaya’s fantastic blog, or better yet, buy the book!  To see how the other SMS bakers did this week, check out their blogs here

4 thoughts on “SMS: Orange Blueberry Muffins with Pecan Crumble

  1. Welcome to SMS! You will really enjoy it. I’ve only been along for a couple of months, but it’s been a lot of fun!

    Your muffins look delicious. I love all the blueberries in crammed into it in your picture. The more fruit the better in my book!

  2. Gloria says:

    Welcome to the group! Your muffins look delicious. I’m relatively new to the group too…I joined about 6 weeks ago. I’m loving it! Unfortunately I didn’t get a chance to bake this week, but after reading everyone’s posts…I will definitely give these a try. The topping sounds amazing. Looking forward to baking with you!

  3. Welcome to the group! Don’t you love it when you try something, not thinking it’s gonna be that good, and then you’re won over? I personally loved the orange/blueberry combo, though I loved the topping even more. I wish I had put more of it on.

  4. hotovenwarmheart says:

    Hi Jennifer!

    My name is Joy, from “Hot Oven, Warm Heart,” and I’m a fellow SMS baker- I wanted to stop by to introduce myself, and welcome you to the group! I’ve been a member for the better part of a year, and it has been a phenomenal experience. Besides making some delicious goodies, meeting so many other amazing bloggers has been a real pleasure. I look forward to getting to know you better as we bake together each week!

    It looks like your off to a great start with your blueberry muffins- they look absolutely delicious. I’m glad your family enjoyed them as well!

    Please feel free to stop by and say hello anytime- I’d love to hear from you! Here’s my blog address: http://hotovenwarmheart.wordpress.com/

    Have a great rest of your week!

    -Joy

Leave a Reply

