SMS: Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum-Raisin Sauce

This week’s Sweet Melissa Sundays recipe was for Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum-Raisin Sauce and was chosen by Carmen of Baking is my Zen.  Check out her blog for a fantastic tutorial on how to make this great dessert!  She had a great idea of test running this recipe as a possible dessert for Thanksgiving. 

I have never eaten bread pudding of any kind before, and to be honest, it never really sounded appealing to me.  One of the reasons I started this blog and joined this group was to expand my horizons, and am I ever glad I did!  This was great!  I didn’t have a chance to make the caramel rum-raisin sauce, and I can only imagine how much better this would have been with the sauce.  The only other change I made was to use challah bread instead of brioche…it was a miracle I found the challah bread in this town, and no one had even heard of brioche before.  If you’re looking for a recipe to impress the in-laws for Thanksgiving this year, this would be a good one!

To see how the other SMS bakers did this week, check out their blogs here.

3 thoughts on “SMS: Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum-Raisin Sauce

  1. Tiffany says:

    Glad you enjoyed this! I discovered a few years ago that I am a bread pudding addict. And I am with you, this will definitely find a place on the Thanksgiving table!

  2. Welcome to the group! Sorry I missed your post last week, but I’m glad you’re baking along with us🙂 Kudos on attempting the bread pudding. I’m so glad you wound up enjoying it! I did a rewind recipe this week since I’m not a big fan of bread pudding but it seems this one was universally loved by the SMS bakers!

  3. Welcome to the group!

    I agree, I had never tired many things before I joined the group and have found things that I like and don’t like…

Leave a Reply

