SMS: Pistachio Linzer Thumbprints

This week’s recipe for Sweet Melissa Sundays was for Pistachio Linzer Thumbprints and was hosted by Tracey of Tracey’s Culinary Adventures.  Check out her blog for this recipe, as well as some other great recipes and pictures!

In almost 30 years, the only pistachio I’ve had was in a muffin I bought in the cafeteria of my first job out of college.  I thought I had picked up a blueberry muffin.  No breakfast for me that morning…I took one bite and promptly spit it in the garbage.  So, when I saw this week’s recipe, I wasn’t overly excited about trying it.  However, Melissa suggests using hazelnuts in place of the pistachios.  I thought, GREAT, I’ll just buy hazelnuts!  I searched four different stores and could not find hazelnuts anywhere.  Refusing to be defeated, I opted to suck it up and make this with pistachios, and man, am I glad I did! 

Due to time constraints (and a peacefully sleeping toddler…not something that has happened much this week!), I did not roll the cookies in the egg whites and chopped pistachios (I wasn’t risking waking up the toddler by running the mini chopper), and I’m glad that I didn’t as I think it would have been too much pistachio for me.  We really enjoyed these cookies and I think they would be great as a Christmas cookie or other special occasion cookie. 

To see how the other SMS bakers did this week, check out the blogroll here.

4 thoughts on “SMS: Pistachio Linzer Thumbprints

  1. I thought they’d be great as a Christmas cookie as well. The green from the pistachios and the red from the jam make them fit right into the holiday🙂

    Glad you ended up liking the cookies! I was also a little unsure, as I’m not typically into nuts, but I enjoyed them as well.

  2. Your cookies are gorgeous! Love the contrasting colors with the jam and the pistachios. I didn’t try them (I don’t like pistachios) but my family enjoyed them quite a bit. Glad you did too🙂 Thanks for baking along this week!

Leave a Reply

