Bourbon Chicken

I love Chinese food, but I feel so gross after I’ve eaten it.  I’ve always wanted to learn how to make some of our favorites at home in much healthier manner.  This recipe for Bourbon Chicken was the answer for healthy Chinese food at home for a fraction of the cost and calories!  I’ve been making this for quite a few years now, and it usually makes our menu at least once a month.  Even the toddler enjoys this (although I’ve tamed the spice a bit for him).  It tastes so much better than the stuff you get in the mall food court or your local take-out place.  Give this a try!

Bourbon Chicken

2 lbs boneless chicken breasts, cut into bite-size pieces
1-2 tablespoon olive oil
1 garlic clove, crushed
1/4 teaspoon ginger
3/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
1/4 cup apple juice
1/3 cup light brown sugar
2 tablespoons ketchup
1 tablespoon cider vinegar
1/2 cup water
1/3 cup soy sauce
2 tsp cornstarch 

Heat oil in a large skillet.  Add chicken and cook until lightly browned.  Remove chicken.  Add remaining ingredients, heating over medium until well dissolved.  Add chicken and bring to a hard boil.  Reduce heat and simmer for 10 minutes.  Serve over hot rice and enjoy.

Source:  Adapted from Recipezaar

One thought on “Bourbon Chicken

  1. I have the same love/hate relationship with Chinese food! I love it, but I hate when it has that greasy aftertaste. I am always searching for a way to get the authentic flavors without the extra fat. Bourbon chicken is one of my favorites, so I’m looking forward to trying this; thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

