BWD: Summer Fruit Gallete

Today’s BWD recipe for Summer Fruit Gallete was chosen by Elizabeth of Gluten-Free Baking 101.  You can find her gluten-free version here.  You can find the original recipe on Tina’s blog, My Domestic Bliss, or on pages 366-367 of Dorie Greenspan’s Baking: From My Home to Yours.

I was a bit intimidated by this recipe.  As I’ve posted here before, I don’t have a ton of baking experience, and have never made a pie crust.  I figured that would be the part of this recipe with which I would struggle.  Turns out that was the easy part for me!  My plan was to use peaches (Dorie recommended peaches, apricots, plums or rhubarb).  I spent 30 minutes trying to get the peaches peeled and sliced, and only got halfway through the eight peaches I had.  Thankfully, I had seen Elizabeth’s post using blueberries, and since I just bought some this morning along with strawberries, I decided to go that route.  Thanks goodness!  It was so delicious.  The husband loved it too, although he was missing some whipped cream or vanilla ice cream (he has a pretty strong sweet tooth).  The pie crust was to die for, and will definitely be my go-to recipe. 

 

Doesn’t this look amazingly delicious?

To see how the other BWD bakers did with this, check out the blogroll here.  For the next BWD recipe, we’ll be making Caramel-Peanut Topped Brownie Cake, which can be found on pages 264-265.

6 thoughts on “BWD: Summer Fruit Gallete

  1. Love how versatile this galette turned out to be for everyone & am glad you enjoyed it so much. And your husband is so right – it would taste wonderful with some ice cream🙂

  2. Looks great. I am making mine, hopefully tomorrow, at the end of our school year. My plan is also blueberries and strawberries. Let’s hope, I can do as well as you have done.

    Fabulous job.

  3. I was a little intimidated by the pie crust too!! isn’t it great that we’re in BWD – helps us overcome many baking fears and intimidation🙂

    keep on baking, girl!

  4. Gloria says:

    Your galette looks delicious! Pie crust can be very intimidating. I know I’ve had my share of battles with getting crust just right. Glad to hear it worked out well! I have Dorie’s book…I will have to check out the recipe for my future crust needs!

Leave a Reply

