BWD: Caramel-Peanut Topped Brownie Cake

This week’s BWD recipe is the Caramel-Peanut Topped Brownie Cake and was chosen by our group’s founder, Grapefruit.  You can find the recipe, along with some mouth-watering pictures, on her blog or on pages 264-265 of Dorie Greenspan’s Baking: From My Home to Yours.

Because we’ve eaten so many sweets lately between my cake classes and 4th of July weekend, I opted to half the cake recipe, but make the whole recipe for the caramel (since Dorie recommends not cutting the recipe in half).  I found a cute little 4″ springform pan at the local craft store, so I used that to bake the cake.  The cake itself came together very easily, and I happily filled my cute little pan.  After 40 minutes of baking, I checked on my cake to find this:

I’m not sure how the pan overflowed when I cut the recipe in half, but the cake was cooked perfectly and looked great once I fixed it up a bit.  I finally had a chance to make the caramel-peanut sauce tonight.  Another thing I’ve never done is make caramel from scratch.  I am happy to report that it went very well and tasted delicious!  The husband and I both agreed that the caramel was the best part of the cake…we were a bit lukewarm about the brownie cake.  

On another note, if anyone has any tips on how to take better pictures with a point and shoot camera, I would appreciate it!  I seem to have the baking/cooking part of this blog down, but would like to take more appetizing looking pictures!

To see how the other BWD bakers did this week, check out the blogroll here.  Next up, Creamiest Lime Meringue Pie!  And I am hoping I won’t be so last minute on that one! 

2 thoughts on “BWD: Caramel-Peanut Topped Brownie Cake

  1. your cake looks moist!! you know, my cake was still dry after four days.. and it’s still in its original container!! no takers for that cake of mine hehe..

    i use a point and shoot too and i think the trick is to switch to micro mode and turn off the flash mode when taking a close-up food photo. make sure you have enough lighting. try it and let me know!!🙂

Leave a Reply

