SMS: Sour Cherry and Almond Biscotti

This week’s Sweet Melissa Sundays recipe for Sour Cherry and Almond Biscotti was chosen by Tracey from Made by Tray-Tray.  You can check out her site for the recipe, along with an excellent tutorial on how to make this biscotti, which was immensley helpful to me as I made this last night!  You can also find the recipe on pages 72-73 of The Sweet Melissa Baking Book.

Biscotti is yet another baked good that I’ve never made, and only eaten a handful of times.  I wasn’t sure if I was going to like this.  My only experience with biscotti was the stuff at Starbucks (yuck) or the big container you can get from Sam’s Club or Costco (which is usually the only uneaten snack at my office!).  But, I figured I would give this a try, and you really can’t beat the combination of cherries and almonds.  I am happy to report that I’m now a biscotti lover thanks to this recipe!  I really enjoyed the flavor, and the crunch despite my love of chewy cookies.  The husband really loved them too.  The recipe came together very easily, and the longest part was letting the dough chill in the refrigerator and the baking time.  My only issue was working with the dough after it sat in the refrigerator.  It was still very sticky and I had to add quite a bit of flour in order to shape it.  I managed to get it to work with a little bit of love.  These will definitely make another appearance in our house!

To see how the other bakers did this week, check out the other posts here.  Up next week…Chocolate Walnut Brownies.  YUM!!

5 thoughts on “SMS: Sour Cherry and Almond Biscotti

  1. Congrats on your first successful biscotti-making experience! Looks like they turned out perfectly🙂 I’m glad the recipe was a hit for you. I’m with you, and more of a chewy cookie girl myself, so biscotti aren’t my favorite, but this dough was really yummy and smelled so wonderful as it baked!

  2. Gloria says:

    The recipe converted me to a biscotti lover too! I will definitely be making these again! Your biscotti look great!

Leave a Reply

