Stovetop Mac and Cheese

Since the husband is out of town, and the toddler and I are big mac and cheese fans, I decided to give this recipe from Cooking Light a shot as a main course dinner for the two of us. I had a block of Champagne cheddar cheese that I bought while up in the Finger Lakes that I thought would be perfect for this. Boy was I wrong. This had virtually no flavor; even my mac and cheese-aholic wouldn’t eat it! I think the cheese was far too mild to really flavor the sauce. I will give this a try again with an extra-sharp cheddar and a bit more ground mustard.

Stovetop Mac and Cheese

1  1/4  cups  uncooked elbow macaroni (about 6 ounces)
1  cup  2% low-fat milk
2  tablespoons  all-purpose flour
1  1/4  cups  (5 ounces) shredded Champagne cheddar cheese
1/2 teaspoon ground mustard
1/2  teaspoon  salt
1/8  teaspoon  freshly ground black pepper

Cook pasta according to package directions, omitting salt and fat. Drain.

Combine milk and flour in a medium saucepan, stirring with a whisk. Cook over medium heat 2 minutes or until thick, stirring constantly with a whisk. Add cheese, salt, and pepper, stirring with a whisk until smooth. Add pasta; toss to coat. Let stand 4 minutes.

Source:  Adapted from Cooking Light

2 thoughts on “Stovetop Mac and Cheese

  1. Oh, man, I hate when recipes don’t turn out quite right:/ It looks yummy though! I am a huge man & cheese fan, especially with cheddar cheese, but I’ve also found that using sharp cheeses is usually best.

Leave a Reply

