BWD: Creamiest Lime (No Meringue) Pie

This week’s Baking with Dorie recipe for Creamiest Lime Meringue Pie was selected by Elizabeth from Gluten-Free Baking 101.  You can check out her site for a gluten-free version of this recipe and a fabulous picture tutorial.  For the original recipe, check out our founder Grapefruit’s blog, or pages 337-339 of Dorie Greenspan’s Baking: From My Home to Yours

Considering I wasn’t going to have my favorite taste tester here to help me eat this pie (the husband is in Phoenix…), I halved the lime filling and used mini graham cracker pie crusts (from the store…shameful I know…).  I did not make the meringue because, well, I’m not a meringue kind of girl.  However, after looking at Elizabeth’s pictures of the Swiss meringue, I may be tempted to try that!  I thought overall the pie was pretty good, but not so good that I would go to the effort of making it again.  I found the filling way too buttery for my taste (2 1/2 sticks!!!); however, this did not stop me from eating a whole mini pie!

Check out the BWD site to see how the other bakers did this week, and to get information on how to join our fabulous group.  For August 2nd, we will be making a Blueberry Crumb Cake.  I am VERY much looking forward to this one!

3 thoughts on “BWD: Creamiest Lime (No Meringue) Pie

  1. Me + you = no meringue🙂 making minis is such a great idea… like you, I thot that the cream was a bit too buttery after the second bite..but that did not stop me from having more🙂

    look forward to baking the Blueberry Crumb cake with you next week!

Leave a Reply

