CEiMB: Chicken with Warm Tomato-Corn Salad

This week’s Craving Ellie in My Belly recipe for Chicken with Warm Tomato-Corn Salad was chosen by Danica of Danica’s Daily. Check out her blog for some great recipes and healthy eating tips.

I am not a vegetable eater. I pretty much stick to corn, broccoli, and salad stuff (romaine lettuce, cucumbers, and tomatoes), so when I saw this week’s recipe, I was a bit skeptical. However, we are trying to eat more healthy so I gave it a shot. Wow, this was fantastic! The husband ate almost the entire pan of the tomato corn salad, and the toddler kept asking for more tomatoes (music to a mother’s ears). This dish was very light and flavorful, perfect for a warm summer evening.  The only thing I would change next time (because there WILL be a next time!) is to add more seasoning to the salad mixture for an extra flavor boost.  The best part…I had dinner ready in less than 15 minutes! 

Chicken with Warm Tomato-Corn Salad

1 1/4 pounds thin-cut skinless, boneless chicken breasts
1/2 tsp Penzeys Northwoods Seasoning, plus more to taste
4 tsp olive oil
4 scallions, whites and greens separated
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 pint grape tomatoes, halved
2 cups frozen corn kernels
3 Tbsp fresh lime juice

Season the chicken with the Northwoods seasoning.  Heat 2 tsp of the oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat.  Add the chicken to the pan and cook until the chicken is browned and cooked through, about 3 minutes per side.  Transfer the chicken to a plate.

Add the remaining 2 tsp of oil to the pan and heat over medium-high heat.  Add the scallion whites and cook, stirring, for 1 minute.  Add the garlic and cook, stirring, for 30 seconds more.  Add the tomatoes and corn to the pan and cook until they are softened but still retain their shape, about 3 minutes.  Stir in the scallion greens and season with Northwoods seasoning to taste. 

Place about a cup of the vegetable mixture on each plate.  Top with a piece of chicken breast.  Sprinkle with lime juice and serve.

Source:  Adapted from  So Easy: Luscious, Healthy Recipes for Every Meal of the Week by Ellie Kreiger, pg 144

4 thoughts on “CEiMB: Chicken with Warm Tomato-Corn Salad

  1. teaandscones says:

    Yes, this was pretty good. I loved the corn salad -w/out the maters – and will make it again. You are right about more seasoning. Maybe some cajun seasoning.

  2. It looks wonderful. I can’t wait to make it…out of town this week and despite my best try at getting it done before I left, I had to let it go and just hope for a double post from me next week. It’s such fun to hear this was such a hit at your house!

  3. We adore the Northwoods at my house! We’re lucky enough to live near a Penzey’s, and we’re there at least once a month. I actually used it in my other side dish for this meal. Glad you enjoyed all the veggies!

  4. I’m glad you gave this one a try despite your hesitation – sometimes the picks I am most skeptical of end up being the ones I love most! I loved how quick and easy this one was, especially for as good as it was🙂

Leave a Reply

