SMS: Toasted Almond Lemon Bars

This week’s Sweet Melissa Sundays recipe for Toasted Almond Lemon Bars was chosen by Rebecca of the Indecisive Baker.  Check out her blog for the recipe, as well as some other great photos and recipes!  You can also find the recipe on pages 78-79 of The Sweet Melissa Baking Book.

If I had to choose my favorite flavor, I would definitely choose lemon.  It works great in savory and sweet dishes, and I try to use it as often as I can.  Lemon bars are a big favorite here in The Rookie Baker house, so I was so excited about this week’s recipe!  I actually made lemon bars once before, and they turned out awful!  It was the very first recipe I ever made from scratch, not long after I graduated from college.  I remember being so excited to make these out of the very first cookbook I ever bought.  Not sure what I did wrong, but they were inedible!  I am glad to say that this recipe turned out much, much better!  These are probably the best lemon bars I’ve ever tasted.  The crust is really unbelievable…the toasted almonds really take it over the edge.  I will most definitely make these again, and again, and again, whenever I have a lemon bar craving!  Thanks for choosing such a great recipe that allowed me to redeem myself in the lemon bar department, Rebecca!!

You can check out how the other bakers did this week here.  Up next week…Chocolate Peppermint Meringues…one of my favorite flavor combinations!

9 thoughts on “SMS: Toasted Almond Lemon Bars

  1. Hooray for redemption🙂 Your bars look delicious – in fact, they make me want to get off my couch and head to the fridge to grab another one of my leftovers! I’m with you on lemon – it’s such a great flavor and so versatile!

  2. Glad you liked the lemon bars! It’s always fun to find a recipe you know you’ll make again and again! I think the almonds in the crust are a take it or leave it thing.

  3. i was lucky enough to have these bars be my first experience with baking lemon bars. but i’ve had the same trouble as you with a simple chocolate cake. let’s just say that i didn’t know you had to replace your baking soda much more often than i did🙂

    i’m glad that you were able to redeem yourself with these bars!

Leave a Reply

