CEiMB: Shrimp Fra Diavolo with Spinach

I love shrimp, pasta, and spicy food, so when it was my turn to choose a recipe for Craving Ellie in My Belly, I knew exactly what to pick – Shrimp Fra Diavolo with Spinach.  Fra Diavolo is, essentially, a spicy tomato sauce, which is right up our alley!  This recipe is a cinch to throw together on a busy weeknight…the longest part was letting the sauce simmer for 8-10 minutes.  We really enjoyed this!  I did overcook the shrimp a bit , so it was kind of rubbery.  We’re not big fans of spinach, so I was hesitant to add it to the sauce, but decided to stay true to the recipe and give it a shot.  I really couldn’t taste it much at all, and we got the added benefits of having it in the sauce.  I would like to try this again with chicken instead of shrimp to see how that tastes.  Thanks, Ellie, for another great healthy, fast, and delicious meal!

I posted the recipe with my adaptations below.  You can find the original recipe on page 162 of Ellie Krieger’s So Easy: Luscious Healthy Recipes for Every Meal of the Week.  Thanks to all of the CEiMB members who cooked along with me this week…I hope you all enjoyed this as much as we did!

Shrimp Fra Diavolo with Spinach

3/4 pound Ronzoni Smart Taste angel hair pasta
2 Tbsp olive oil
1/2 medium red onion, thinly sliced
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 (14.5 ounce) can no-salt-added petite diced tomatoes
1 cup chicken broth
1 Tbsp tomato paste
1 tsp dried oregano
1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
1/2 tsp 4S seasoning salt from Penzey’s
1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper
1 pound large shrimp, peeled and deveined
3 cups lightly packed baby spinach leaves (3 ounces), coarsely chopped

Bring a large pot of water to a boil.  Add the pasta and cook until al dente and according to the package directions.

While the pasta is cooking, heat 1 tablespoon of the oil in a large pot over medium-high heat.  Add the onion and cook, stirring, until softenend, about 3 minutes.  Add the garlic and cook, stirring, for an additional minute.  Add the tomatoes, chicken broth, tomato paste, the remaining 1 tablespoon of olive oil, the oregano, red pepper flakes, salt, and pepper, and simmer until the sauce thickens slightly, 8 to 10 minutes.  Add the shrimp and spinach and cook, stirring, until the shrimp is just cooked through, about 5 minutes.  Remove from the heat.  Add the drained cooked pasta to the sauce and toss well until combined.

8 thoughts on “CEiMB: Shrimp Fra Diavolo with Spinach

  1. You picked a good dish. We loved the shrimp. Can’t beat whole wheat pasta for fiber and goodness and the fact that it was angle hair whole wheat had me sold. Good job!

  2. I am there! NOMS! Everythin?g I love is here and now I am going to have to make this. Love Ellie too. I am wondering if this group is still open to new people joining?

  3. Sorry I’m so late to comment on this post! Thank you for the great pick; we really loved it here at my house.

    To Shandy above, we sure do accept new members! Stop over at the Craving Ellie in My Belly blog and check us out!

  4. Awesome pick! I am sorry I didn’t get to participate along with you, but this was one of the recipes I was considering for my selection a while back as well. It sounds delicious, and I can’t wait to try it soon. I’ve been traveling for the past couple weeks and am just getting caught up on all the blogs I follow – congrats on your recent announcement!! Best wishes🙂

  5. I am making this tonight so that I can post it tomorrow with my other make up posts…running a tad behind with all the swimming and being away from my kitchen, but I was so happy to see you had picked this one! I think chicken would be great, too, but I have shrimp all ready to go for tonight. Yours looks wonderful!

Leave a Reply

