SMS: Chocolate Strawberry Truffle Torte

I am very excited to be hosting this week’s Sweet Melissa Sundays recipe for the Chocolate Raspberry Truffle Torte!  I joined this great group a few months ago, when they were already almost halfway through the book.  I missed out on some great recipes, but was so excited to see this one hadn’t been made yet.  As soon as it was my turn to choose a recipe, I knew this is the one I would pick.  I love chocolate.  I love raspberries.  I love chocolate and raspberries together.  This just HAD to be good! 

However, my attempt for chocolate raspberry goodness was thwarted this morning.  I bought my raspberries yesterday evening to ready myself to get started this morning.  I opened my raspberries and found mold on almost every single one.  At least I bought two containers, certainly BOTH couldn’t be moldy.  But the second one was too.  I admit I cried (damn pregnancy hormones).  Then, I remembered my other favorite chocolate/fruit combination…chocolate covered strawberries!!  And we had strawberries in the house (we always have them…the toddler could eat an entire container in one sitting!).  I did cut this recipe in half as I wasn’t sure the husband would enjoy this, and I’m not feeling all that great lately (damn pregnancy hormones!) and made it in my adorable 4″ springform pan.  Overall, this is a simple recipe to throw together.  Melt chocolate and butter together, whip the heck out of some eggs, mix it all up, add strawberries in the middle, bake, and refrigerate!  The only other substitution I made was to use 1/2 tsp of orange extract for the rum…I thought we had rum in the house, but sadly, we did not.

The final result?  YUM!  This is very, very chocolatey, but very, very delicious.  As I expected, the husband wasn’t a huge fan (he’s more of a milk or white chocolate kind of guy), but that’s okay, more for me!  It really did taste like a chocolate covered strawberry.  Yummy.  I kind of laughed at my pictures though…doesn’t it look like a hamburger cooked to medium-ish?  You must try this!  I posted the recipe below, but you can also find it on pages 206-207 of Melissa Murphy’s fabulous The Sweet Melissa Baking Book.  Melissa does suggest serving this with her Raspberry Sauce (on page 176) for some extra indulgence.  I did not make the sauce, but will post the recipe for that one as well.  Don’t forget to check out how the other bakers did this week!  Thanks for baking with me this week!

Chocolate Raspberry Truffle Torte 

8 ounces best-quality bittersweet (64-68%) chocolate
8 Tbsp (1 stick) unsalted butter
3 Tbsp rum (I used 1 tsp orange extract)
3 large eggs
1/2 dry pint fresh raspberries (I used strawberries)
1 Tbsp best-quality unsweetened Dutch-process cocoa powder, for sprinkling

BEFORE YOU START

Position a rack in the center of your oven.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Turn an 8-inch springform pan upside down and cover the bottom and sides with aluminum foil.  The foil should come up at least 2 inches on all sides, so the water from the water bath will not leak through.  Lightly butter the inside bottom and sides of the springform pan.  Line the bottom with an 8-inch round of parchment paper.

  1. In the top of a double boiler set over simmering, not boiling, water, gently melt the chocolate with the butter, stirring until smooth.  Heat until it is just melted; don’t let it get too hot.  When the chocolate is fully melted, stir in the rum.
  2. In an electric mixer bowl set over a pot of simmering, not boiling, water, heat the eggs while stirring unti just warm to the touch.  Remove from the heat. 
  3. In the electric mixer fitted with the whip attachment, beat the eggs until tripled in volume, or when they reach soft peaks.
  4. Fold half of the eggs into the chocolate mixture until almost incorporated.  Fold in the remaining eggs until just blended but with no streaks remaining.
  5. Pour half of the batter into the prepared springform pan.  Scatter the fresh raspberries evenly over the batter, and then pour the remaining batter over the berries.  Smooth with a spatula.
  6. Place the springform pan in a roasting pan large enough to hold it.  Fill the roasting pan with hot water until it reaches halfway up the sides of the springform pan.  Bake uncovered for 5 minutes.  Cover the pan with aluminum foil or an upside-down cookie sheet and bake for 20 minutes more.  Remove to a wire rack, uncover the pan, and cool in the water bath for 1 hour.
  7. Remove the pan from the water bath.  Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate until very firm, about 3 1/2 hours.
  8. Using a sharp knife, carefully loosen the cake from the edges of the pan.  Release the springform ring to unmold the cake.  To release the bottom, invert the cake onto a flat plate lined with parchment paper or aluminum foil and remove the bottom and the parchment round.  Turn the cake right side up onto a serving plate and dust with sifted cocoa powder.  Keep refrigerated until serving.

Slice with a hot knife and serve.  The torte keeps tightly wrapped in plastic wrap in the refrigerator for up to 4 days.

Raspberry Sauce

2 (12-ounce) packages frozen unsweetened raspberries, thawed, or 2 1/2 dry pints fresh
3/4 cup plus 2 Tbsp sugar
1 Tbsp fresh lemon juice

  1. In a medium saucepan over medium heat, stir together the raspberries, sugar, and lemon juice until it comes to a simmer.  Simmer for 2 minutes.  Remove from the heat and let cool briefly.
  2. In a food processor fitted with the metal blade or a blender, pulse the raspberry mixture until smooth.   Strain the mixture into a resealable conatiner and refrigerate for 2 hours.

Raspberry sauce will keep refrigerated in an airtight container for up to 5 days, or frozen for up to 1 month.  Shake well before serving.

10 thoughts on “SMS: Chocolate Strawberry Truffle Torte

  1. I thought strawberries from the beginning. Strawberries are a natural and a strawberry sauce would sub for the raspberry sauce. I didn’t make the sauce either. This is a rich dessert and it did not need anything else.

    So, what is the next recipe, the two of us are making together?

    Ellie and BWD are on this address. Sweet Melissa is on My Sweet and Savory.

    Get lots of rest. Don’t push yourself. Take time off from baking, if you need to get the rest. The first three months tend to deplete, at least, I thought so. Enjoy your pregnancy.

  2. I adore raspberries, but think the strawberry combo would work well too! I was also thinking some oranges slightly candied in the rum might make a different one too! Thank you for choosing this one!

  3. So sorry you had troubles with the recipe. It can be so frustrating! You picked a good one!! Thanks for hosting this week. Take care and enjoy your pregnancy.

  4. Gloria says:

    Thanks for hosting this week. I really wanted to make this, but it just didn’t happen this weekend with my neice visiting us. But I am going to freeze the raspberries I bought for this and hopefully you will see it on a SMS Rewind post! Your torte looks yummy!

  5. Alisa says:

    I made it yesterday and it tastes really really good. But when trying to get it out of the pan it broke in pieces. What could I have been doing wrong?

Leave a Reply

