CEiMB: Sloppy Joes

This week’s Craving Ellie in My Belly recipe for Sloppy Joes was chosen by Chaya of Chaya’s Comfy Cooking.  Check out her blog to see what she did with this recipe, and many other great recipes!  Chaya and I are in several blogging groups together, and always has great tips and plenty of encouragement. 

I have never really had homemade sloppy joes.  I’ve always been a Manwich kind of girl.  Since the husband is not a Manwich fan, and really doesn’t care for sloppy joes in general, I never make them unless he is out of town.  I showed this recipe to the husband, and he said he would give it a try.  Let me tell you…these were fantastic!  The husband ate 2 sandwiches on Tuesday night, and ate three more on Wednesday night!  Even the toddler enjoyed these.  I’d say we hit a homerun with this one.  I put the the red bell pepper in there despite my hatred of peppers, and I really didn’t notice it in there.  Great way to sneak in some veggies without really tasting them.  I did omit the jalapeno since I didn’t have one, and used chili powder in its place.  Thanks, Chaya, for picking such a great recipe this week!  This will definitely make our dinner rotation, especially since the whole thing took less than 20 minutes!  Check out the CEiMB blog to see how the other members did this week.  Next week’s recipe is for Salmon Cakes with Ginger-Sesame Sauce.  I won’t be making this one as we’re not big fans of salmon or ginger.  I will do a rewind recipe and try something out that the group made before I joined!

Sloppy Joes

1 pound extra-lean ground beef
1 onion, diced
4 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 tsp chili powder
1 red pepper, diced
1 can black beans, preferably low sodium, rinsed and drained
1 1/2 cups no-salt-added tomato sauce
2 Tbsp tomato paste
1 Tbsp red wine vinegar
1 Tbsp molasses
1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
1 tsp ground mustard
3/4 tsp seasoned salt
Freshly ground black pepper
8 whole-wheat burger buns

Brown the meat and the onion in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat for 5 minutes, breaking up the meat into crumbles as it cooks. Pour the drippings out of the pan and discard. Add the garlic, jalapeno, and red pepper and cook 5 minutes more, stirring occasionally. Stir in the rest of the ingredients, reduce heat to low, and simmer for 5 minutes more. Place a half-cup scoop of the mixture onto each bun and serve.

Source:  Adapted from The Food You Crave by Ellie Kreiger, page 90

7 thoughts on “CEiMB: Sloppy Joes

  1. I am glad that your family liked this, especially since it was far from a favorite before. Ellie knows what she is doing and obviously, you knew how to do what she was saying.

    I guess, we are up for the Brown Sugar Bundt. Whatever, our next recipe is, I am looking forward to checking in, with you.

  2. Weren’t these just delicious? We are manwich people too. But not now. I will make this recipe again. It was so easy! And at least you know exactly what you are getting as far as ingredients go. Yours look delicious. Fun cooking along with you this week!

  3. Weren’t these great? Glad to hear that you were able to convert your husband into a sloppy joe-lover! I’m skipping out on next week’s pick, too, so I’ll be joining you in doing a rewind recipe!

    Have a great week!

  4. Definitely a hit here with us as well (I will catch up on posting this Thursday), the guys absolutely love sloppy joes and I think they would eat them once a week were I so inclined to make them as often…this recipe is definitely a winner. Yours look great, no wonder they were a hit!

Leave a Reply

