CEiMB: Apple Brown Betty

This week’s Craving Ellie in My Belly recipe was chosen by Jessica over at Learning to Love Vegetables.  You can find the recipe for this fabulous dessert over on Food Network’s website, or on page 241 of Ellie Krieger’s So Easy

 I’ll be honest, I was a bit skeptical of this recipe…I just didn’t see how whole wheat bread crumbs would make a good topping for this dessert.  Boy, was I wrong!  We all really enjoyed this, and I see this being made in our house quite frequently.  You can’t beat a great tasting and HEALTHY dessert!  The only change I made was using sliced almonds instead of walnuts, because that is what I had on hand.  The only thing missing…some vanilla ice cream!  I will be running to the store tomorrow to pick some up so that we can enjoy it with the leftovers.  Thanks Jessica for a fabulous pick!!  To see how the other CEiMB members did this week, check out the blogroll.

5 thoughts on “CEiMB: Apple Brown Betty

  1. I felt the same way you did. I just didn’t think those breadcrumbs would be good on top of this. But they were! We liked it and it was very easy to make. Yours looks great.

  2. We were surprised as well…pleasantly surprised. It was so good. I love what cooking those apples in cider did for it all…such a depth of apple flavor, very nice. Yours looks so delicious.

  3. It sounds like it would be too healthy to be tasty doesn’t it? But I was quite pleased with the result and look forward to making it again this year!

Leave a Reply

