CEiMB Rewind: Confetti Chili

I am not a fan of most vegetables, so in order to force myself to eat them, I have to hide them in my meals as if I were a little kid.  Ellie Kreiger comes through again!  This chili was a great way to do that, and was absolutely delicious.  Even the toddler ate a good sized bowl!  This has a nice smoky flavor from the chipotle chilis and adobo sauce, and the only vegetable I could taste was the corn (which I love).  So you get all of the nutritional benefits of the vegetables without having to taste them…just the way I like it!  I still like my homemade chili recipe better, but I will definitely be adding in some red peppers, carrots, and corn next time I make it. 

Confetti Chili
From Ellie Kreiger’s The Food You Crave, page 187

1 Tbsp olive oil
1 small onion, diced (1 cup)
1 medium red bell pepper, seeded and diced (1 cup)
1 medium carrot, diced (1/2 cup – I used 7 baby carrots, diced)
2 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp ground coriander
1 pound lean or extra-lean (90% or higher) ground beef
1 (28-ounce) can no-salt-added crushed tomatoes, with their juices
2 cups water
1 canned chipotle chili in adobo sauce, seeded and minced, plus 2 tsp of the sauce
1/2 tsp dried oregano
1 (15.5-ounce) can black beans, prefereably low-sodium, drained and rinsed
1 (15.5-ounce) can kideny beans, prefereably low-sodium, drained and rinsed
1 1/2 cups frozen corn kernals (I used one 14.5 ounce can of no-salt-added corn, drained)
Salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

Heat oil in a large pot or Dutch oven over medium heat.  Add the onion, bell pepper, and carrot, cover, and cook, stirring occasionally, until softened, about 10 minutes.  Add the cumin and coriander and cook, stirring. for 1 minute.  Add the ground beef; raise the heat to high and cook, breaking up the meat with a spoon, until the meat is no longer pink.  Stir in the tomatoes, water, chipolte and adobo sauce, and oregano and bring to a boil.  Reduce the heat to medium-low and cook, partially covered, stirring from time to time, for 30 minutes. 

Stir in the beans and continue cooking, partially covered, 20 minutes longer, until the chili is nicely thickened.  Stir in the corn and cook until heated through.  Season with salt and pepper and serve.

2 thoughts on “CEiMB Rewind: Confetti Chili

  1. Love, love, love this recipe…make it constantly, why oh why did I not make it today??? Yours looks so good, I wish I had that right now. Perfect football watching food…Colts are about to start…yep, I wish that chili was waiting for us.

Leave a Reply

