Chocolate Covered Cherry Cookies

Chocolate covered cherries are one of my most favorite candies, especially the ones from a local chocolate store.  When I saw this recpe for chocolate covered cherry cookies, I knew I had to give these a try this year.  Wow, they are amazing!  These are basically made the same way as the classic thumbprint cookies, except these have a chocolate cookie base.  Instead of jam or chocolate, you fill the thumbprint with a maraschino cherry, and top it with a chocolate ganache that is thinned with some of the liquid in the maraschino cherry jar.  These will be added to my cookies I make yearly list as they were that good!

Chocolate Covered Cherry Cookies
Source: From Tasty Kitchen

1-½ cup All-purpose Flour
½ cups Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
¼ teaspoons Salt
¼ teaspoons Baking Soda
¼ teaspoons Baking Powder
½ cups Butter, Room Temperature
1 cup Granulated Sugar
1 whole Egg
1-½ teaspoon Vanilla
1 jar (10 Oz.) Maraschino Cherries, Drained, Reserve Juice
1 package (6 Oz.) Semisweet Chocolate Chips
½ cups Sweetened, Condensed Milk

In a large bowl, combine flour, cocoa powder, salt, baking powder and soda. Blend well and set aside.

In a mixing bowl, beat together butter or margarine and sugar on low speed until fluffy. Add egg and vanilla; beat well.

Gradually add dry ingredients to the creamed mixture; beat until smooth and well blended.

With hands, shape dough into 1-inch balls; place on an ungreased baking sheet. Press down the center of the dough with your thumb.

Drain maraschino cherries well, reserving juice. Place a cherry in the center indention of each cookie.

In small saucepan, combine chocolate pieces and sweetened condensed milk. Heat over low heat until chocolate is melted. Stir in 1 tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon of the reserved cherry juice.

Spoon about 1 teaspoon of the topping over each cherry, spreading to cover the cherry. If frosting seems too thick, thin it with a little more cherry juice.

(I was worried that I read my original recipe wrong when it told me to put the frosting on BEFORE baking. I thought it would melt and run all over. But I did as it said and it is amazing! This super-silky chocolate frosting does not melt or run anywhere! It seals in the cherry beautifully!)

Bake at 350°F for 10 minutes, or until done. Remove to a wire rack to cool.

Makes 3 to 4 dozen cookies.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Covered Cherry Cookies

  1. thank you soo much for posting this recipe! My aunt used to make these cookies every christmas and I carried on the tradition, until I lost the recipe and couldn’t find it anywhere online. These are by far my favorite cookies of all time, Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

