BWD: World Peace Cookies

Check out that picture!  The husband got me a new fabulous camera for Christmas that takes phenominal food photos!  I am in love and can’t wait to play around with it some more.  Enough about that though, let’s move on to these delcious, decadent, chocolate cookies!  Rebecca from beurrista chose these World Peace Cookies for this week’s Baking with Dorie recipe, and what a great choice she made.  You can find the recipe on her blog, or on pages 138-139 of Dorie Greenspan’s Baking: From My Home to Yours.

I had a heck of a time getting these cookies ready for baking.  The dough itself comes togther easily and chills in the refrigerator for 3 hours before you can slice and bake these.  That is where my trouble started.  The bittersweet chocolate chips I bought were big, and only after I got home did I realize Dorie said chopped bittersweet chocolate or mini chocolate chips.  Whoops!  Every time I cut a cookie from the dough log, it fell apart, unless I was lucky enough to cut somewhere without a chocolate chip (which happened maybe twice).  Thankfully, the cookies are easily put back togther, and after 12 minutes in the oven, we had delicous, chocolate cookies that if handed out around the world, could go a long way to contributing to world peace as their name suggests.  These are GOOD.

To see how the other BWD bakers enjoyed these, check out the blogroll here.  Up next is the Apple Coconut Family Cake on page 214.

2 thoughts on “BWD: World Peace Cookies

  1. The cookies look Perfect! I had the same issues with the logs splitting even though I had chopped my chocolate very tiny & almost grated it in. But I don’t mind – these cookies were fantastic.
    Thanks for baking with us this week!

Leave a Reply

