Lemon Pepper Shrimp Scampi

I’m a big fan of shrimp scampi, and anything lemon pepper, so when I saw this recipe, I knew it was something I had to try.  I’ve been hungry for shrimp lately, so tonight was the night to try it!  This was very easy to throw together…I had dinner on the table in about 20 minutes.  I made a few changes to this.  I cooked the orzo in about 2 cups chicken broth to add some additional flavor and creaminess to the orzo.  I also forgot the parsley, and deceided to double the sauce since I know the husband likes a lot of sauce.  The husband and I both enjoyed this; the toddler, however, did not like it, and opted for PB&J instead (I expected as much though…he’s never tried shrimp before).  The husband thought it was a little to “light” for a main dish dinner, and thought I should make this again as a side dish.  Men.  I loved it, but for some reason, the shrimp that sounded so good earlier today did not satisfy as much as I’d hoped.  I will definitely make this again, but may substitute chicken next time.

Lemon Pepper Shrimp Scampi

1  cup  uncooked orzo
2 cups chicken broth
1/4  teaspoon  salt, divided
7  teaspoons  unsalted butter, divided
1  pound peeled and deveined large shrimp
3 cloves garlic, minced
4  tablespoons  fresh lemon juice
1/2  teaspoon  black pepper

Cook orzo according to package directions, omitting salt and fat and substituting chicken broth for the water. Drain. Place orzo in a medium bowl.

While orzo cooks, melt 1 tablespoon butter in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Sprinkle shrimp salt. Add half of shrimp to pan; sauté 2 minutes or until almost done. Transfer shrimp to a plate. Melt 1 teaspoon butter in pan. Add remaining shrimp to pan; sauté 2 minutes or until almost done. Transfer to plate.

Melt remaining 1 tablespoon butter in pan. Add garlic to pan; cook 30 seconds, stirring constantly. Stir in shrimp, juice, and pepper; cook 1 minute or until shrimp are done. 

Source:  Adapted from Cooking Light March 2009

2 thoughts on “Lemon Pepper Shrimp Scampi

Leave a Reply

