BWD: Brrr-ownies

It’s always a hard decision when it’s your turn to select the Baking with Dorie recipe.  Her cookbook is so full of amazing looking recipes!  This is the third recipe I’ve chosen for our group, and each time I’ve chosen, this recipe for Brrr-ownies has always been my second choice.  Well, it was time for it to be my first choice, and I’m so glad that it was! 

I had planned to make these in advance since I’m currently on vacation with the toddler visiting my mom in Florida (hooray for warmth and sunshine!).  Unfortunately, I ran out of time, but thankfully my mom was up for some yummy brownies, so we made them this evening.  We both absolutely loved them, and that’s saying a lot for me since sweets have been my nemesis since I found out I was pregnant three months ago.  These brownies are fudgey and full of chocolate mint deliciousness.  They aren’t overly sweet or rich, so it is easy to eat more than one, or two, or three, or…(what can I say, the baby loved them!!).

See below for the recipe for these fantastic brownies.  You can also find the recipe on page 103 of Dorie Greenspan’s Baking: From My Home to Yours.  To see how everyone else enjoyed these tasty treats, head on over to the BWD page and check out the blogroll.  Next up, we’re making Bill Bill’s Carrot Cake.  YUM!

Brrr-ownies

5 Tbsp unsalted butter, cut into 5 pieces
3 ounces bittersweet chocolate, coarsely chopped
3 ounces unsweetened chocolate, coarsely chopped
2/3 cup sugar
2 large eggs
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
Pinch of salt
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup (6 ounces) York Peppermint Patties, chopped into bits

Getting Ready:  Center a rack in the oven and preheat the oven to 325 degrees.  Line an 8-inch square baking pan with foil, butter the foil and place the pan on a baking sheet. 

Set a heatproof bowl over a saucepan of gently simmering water.  Put the butter in the bowl, top with the chopped chocolates and stir occasionally until the ingredients are just melted – you don’t want them to get so hot that the butter separates.  Remove the bowl from the pan of water.

With a whisk, stir in the sugar.  Don’t be concerned when your smooth mixture turns grainy.  Whisk in the eggs one by one.  Add the vanilla and whisk vigorously to bring the batter together and give it a shine before gently stirring in the salt and flour; stir only until incorporated.  Switch to a rubber spatula and fold in the peppermint pieces.  Scrape the batter into the pan and smooth the top with the rubber spatula.

Bake the brownies for 30 to 33 minutes, or until the top is dull and a thin knife inserted into the center comes out clean.  (The tip of the knife may be a touch streaky.)  Transfer the pan to a rack and cool to room temperature. 

When they are completely cool, turn out onto a rack, peel away the foil and invert onto a cutting board.  Cut into sixteen 2-inch squares.

Source:  From Baking: From My Home to Yours, page 103

3 thoughts on “BWD: Brrr-ownies

  1. I love those bits of peppermint – thanks for picking a great recipe. I’m just sorry I couldn;t bake along. I’m glad your morning sickness is over just in time to enjoy these brownies😀
    Thanks for baking with us this week!

Leave a Reply

