BWD: Cherry Apple Cobbler

 

Happy 4th of July!  I hope everyone had as nice a holiday weekend as we did.  We were constantly on the go, but it was so much fun!  This was a great dessert recipe to cap off our long weekend.  The original recipe called for rhubarb, but I couldn’t find it at our store, and we aren’t big fans of it anyway, so I substituted Granny Smith apples for the rhubarb as did many of the other BWD bakers.  I also got to try out my new cherry pitter, which worked so well and made quick work out of preparing the cherries for this cobbler.  Overall this was a delicious cobbler, perfect for summer; however, if I were to make it again, I would omit the ground ginger from the filling.  I’m not a huge fan of the flavor and I felt it was a bit overpowering for me. 

A big thanks to Ryan from The Behr Necessities for picking this yummy cobbler.  To get the recipe, check out her blog here, or you can find it on page 415 of Dorie’s Baking: From My Home to Yours.  You can check out the BWD blogroll to see the numerous variations everyone came up with…they all look delicious!  Next month’s recipe is for Creme Brulee..cannot wait!!

3 thoughts on “BWD: Cherry Apple Cobbler

  1. Isn’t it a great summer dessert? Well, it’s actually summer all year round for me in this side of the world. Btw, does cobbler mean the round biscuits on top of the filling? See..I didn’t know that and thought that I must’ve done something wrong when my balls didn’t cover the entire fruit!

  2. Welcome back! Your biscuits look perfect. Mine weren’t as much😦 ….. but that’s because I probably messed up while doing the math and cutting my recipe to 1/4th.

    Thanks for baking along!

  3. I was contemplating buying a cherry pitter, but since there were a ton of strawberries in my fridge, I just used those. My daughter, helping out, said,”You aren’t going to use the ginger, are you?” So we didn’t- so I’d echo your ginger assessment. It certainly was delicious, wasn’t it?

Leave a Reply

