Mongolian Beef

I must be on a major Chinese food kick lately, because this is the second of three “take-out fake-out” recipes I’ve tried in the last week or so (stay tuned for a fabulous sweet and sour chicken recipe later this week!).  I’m a sucker for Chinese take-out, as are the husband and tiny man, and we’ve had more than our fair share since the baby made his debut.  As much as we enjoy that take-out, it’s really not that great for you, and so I’m continually on the lookout for a healthier alternative.  Enter this unbelievably good Mongolian Beef. 

Though I’ve never had the restaurant version of this before, I can imagine this is a much tastier, and most certainly healthier, version.  The sauce had a nice flavor with a good kick from the red pepper flakes, and it took me less than 15 minutes to get on the table.  The husband has already requested that I make this again very, very soon, and I’m sure I can oblige that request!  The only change I made was using sirloin instead of flank steak because that’s what I had, and I also didn’t use the green onions as the ones I bought met an unfortunate demise in my refrigerator (I’ll spare you the details).

Mongolian Beef

1 lb flank steak, thinly sliced crosswise
1/4 cup of cornstarch
3 tsp vegetable oil, divided
1/2 teaspoon grated ginger
1 Tbsp minced garlic
1/2 cup water
1/2 cup of low-sodium soy sauce
1/4 cup brown sugar (measured, not packed)
3/4 tsp red pepper flakes
1 large green onion, sliced thinly

Pat steak slices dry and add to a bowl with corn starch. Toss to ensure all pieces are just coated. Shake off excess corn starch using a strainer.

Heat 1 1/2 tsp oil in a large wok or non-stick pan over medium-high heat. Add the garlic and ginger, stir until fragrant. Add the soy sauce, water, brown sugar and pepper flakes. Cook the sauce for about 2 minutes and transfer to a bowl.

Turn the heat to high and add the remaining oil to the wok. Add the beef and cook until browned on all sides. Pour the sauce back into the wok and cook until the sauce reaches desired consistency. Add the green onions (a pinch reserved for garnish), stir, and remove from heat. Plate, top with remaining onions, and serve.

Source:  Confections of a Foodie Bride, orginially from Pink Bites

Leave a Reply

