Lemon Blueberry Muffins – Crazy Cooking Challenege #8

Wow, how is it April already? I swear this year is flying by! One of the things I wanted to start with my family is a Saturday breakfast tradition. Saturdays are usually the only day during the week that we don’t have to run around crazy in the morning, so I though having a nice, homemade breakfast to enjoy as a family on a leasurly Saturday morning would be a great tradition to start. It also helps that we are huge fans of breakfast food around here. Up until now, I’ve mostly scrambled some eggs, and maybe cooked up some sausage and/or bacon and called it good, but I wanted to start branching out and trying some different kinds of breakfasts. So I was very excited about this month’s Crazy Cooking Challenge theme – Blueberry Muffins!

Photobucket

I found this recipe for Lemon Blueberry Muffins over on Savory Sweet Life.  I am so glad I discovered her blog, and have already bookmarked several recipes that I cannot WAIT to try!  It’s no secret that I am a big fan of lemon, and one of my favorite flavor combinations is lemon and blueberry, so these muffins were right up my alley.  I was not disappointed!  The lemon flavor wasn’t overpowering, which works well for us since the husband is a purist when it comes to his blueberry muffins, and he enjoyed quite a few without complaint!  It only took me about 10 minutes to mix everything up, and after 25 minutes of baking time, we were ready to rock.  The only change I made was I omitted the turbinado sugar from the top as I didn’t have any.  Definitely give this a try for a quick and satisfying breakfast treat!

Lemon Blueberry Muffins

1 cup of sugar
4 tablespoons butter, softened
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
Zest of 1 lemon
1/2 cup sour cream
2 eggs
Juice of 1 lemon
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1-1/2 cups fresh or frozen blueberries

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.  In a medium mixing bowl, cream sugar, butter, oil, and lemon zest for 3 minutes until light in color and creamy on medium speed using a mixer. Add sour cream, eggs, lemon juice, and vanilla extract beating for 2 minutes. Add the flour, baking powder, and salt gently mixing everything for an additional minute until everything is fully incorporated, approximately 2 minutes. Batter will be nice and thick. Gently fold in the blueberries. Line a muffin tin with paper cups and pour batter 3/4 full into each muffin cup. Bake for 12 minutes and then lower the oven temperature to 350 degrees F.  Bake for an additional 12-15 minutes or until the center of the muffins springs back when touched.

Source:  Sweet Savory Life

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

4 thoughts on “Lemon Blueberry Muffins – Crazy Cooking Challenege #8

Leave a Reply

