Texas Roadhouse Green Beans

I’m like a little kid when it comes to eating my vegetables. Once I see them, I start the “But Mom, I don’t LIKE [insert evil vegetable name here]!” whining. I guess that’s the fun part about adulthood…you don’t have anyone forcing you to eat the dreaded veggies. Or at least until you have kids. Because now I have to convince two very smart boys that vegetables are delicious! Thankfully, the tiny man is a big fan of the veggies…I’ve actually seen him choose cherry tomatoes or sliced red peppers over cookies. No joke. How is this kid mine?

Because I need to continue the “veggies are great!” routine around here, I really need to embrace eating them, and find some delicious ways to prepare them. Let me tell you, this recipe for green beans is an excellent start! First of all, everything is better with bacon, and that’s where these bad boys start. Add some onions (which I didn’t do this time because I was somehow out of onions), saute for a bit, then add the green beans, water, salt, pepper and sugar, and voila, a tasty green bean side dish in a short amount of time! These do taste better the longer they cook…the first time I made them they only simmered for about 10 minutes, but the second time I let them go for a little over 30 minutes, and they tasted much better the second time around. If you are veggie-phobic as I am, or have veggie-phobic kids/spouses/etc., I recommend giving these a try!

Texas Roadhouse Green Beans

2 (16 ounce) cans of green beans, drained and rinsed
2 cups water
1 tablespoon sugar
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1/2 teaspoon salt
5 strips of bacon, diced
1/2 a medium onion, diced

Drain green beans and set aside. Mix water, sugar, pepper and salt until well incorporated. Set aside.

Preheat a deep pan over medium high heat. Add the diced bacon. Cook until just starting to get crispy. Add the onions and cook until they are tender, then add the green beans and liquid mixture. Stir to incorporate. Bring mixture to a boil and then lower the heat to simmer. Simmer until ready to serve.

Source:  As seen on Taste of Home Cooking, originally slightly modified from The Rookie Chef

Leave a Reply

