Copy Cat Chick-Fil-A Chicken Nuggets – Crazy Cooking Challenge #11

This month’s Crazy Cooking Challenge theme was fried chicken. I was excited and not excited about this challenge all at the same time. I’ve been trying to lose this stubborn baby weight, so accordingly, I’ve been eating a bit more healthy. Fried chicken isn’t known for its health benefits. However, I’ve never fried anything before, and I love to try new things in the kitchen, so off I went in search of the perfect fried chicken recipe. I bookmarked seven different recipes, but when I saw this recipe for a copy cat of Chick-Fil-A’s delicious chicken nuggets, I knew I had a winner! Chick-Fil-A is without a doubt my favorite fast food restaurant, and I probably ate there once a week when we still lived in Virginia. The small town we live in now has every single fast food joint known to man, except my beloved Chick-Fil-A, so I’ve had to do without except for the rare treat if I’m shopping somewhere that has one. So Chick-Fil-A, if you happen upon my little blog here, please, please, please come to my town! I promise I’ll visit frequently.🙂

Photobucket

I found this gem on Pinterest (of course!) and it led me to the fabulous Amy of My Name is Snickerdoodle. This must be a popular recipe, because it has been pinned over 250,000! I can see why it is so popular, because it was so, so, so good and tasted almost exactly like the chicken nuggets at Chick-Fil-A! The chicken bites soak in a milk and egg mixture for a few hours, then they are coated in a mixture of flour, powdered sugar, salt, and pepper, and finally fried in either peanut or canola oil (or in my case a mixture of both) until crispy and cooked through. So easy and so good! We devoured these for dinner tonight, and I will certainly make them again! I can’t wait to see what everyone else cooked up this month…I am on the lookout for a more traditional fried chicken recipe to try!

2 skinless and boneless chicken breasts
1 cup milk
1 egg
1 1/4 cups flour
2 TBSP powdered sugar
2 tsp salt
1 tsp pepper
peanut oil (is best) or canola oil

In a medium bowl whisk the egg and stir in the milk. Trim any fat away from chicken. Cube chicken into bite size pieces. Place chicken in milk mixture,and cover. Let it ‘marinate’ for 2-4 hours in the fridge. This will make the chicken very nice and tender. In a gallon size resealable baggie combine flour, powdered sugar, salt and pepper. Seal and shake to combine. Place about 2 inches of oil in a medium deep pot. Over medium high heat (more towards the high side) heat oil until hot. If using a thermometer let the temperature reach 375°. If you don’t have a fancy gadget like most people, I always test my oil by dropping a few drops of water into it. You want it to sizzle and not pop too much. Adjust your heat if necessary. Using a fork or tongs remove cut chicken from milk mixture and place in the flour mixture. Seal and shake until nuggets are completely coated. Place about a 6-8 nuggets into hot oil and let them cook until golden brown, turning half way through once the edge of your chicken starts to turn white. About 1 minute each side. Always double check to see if any chicken you make is cooked through. I always just make a tiny cut to see if it’s pink. Remove and drain on a paper towel. Repeat until all nuggets are cooked. Serve with your favorite sauce!

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

2 thoughts on “Copy Cat Chick-Fil-A Chicken Nuggets – Crazy Cooking Challenge #11

Leave a Reply

