Chicken Tortilla Soup

I LOVE fall.  Seriously love it.  I love the cool weather, the changing leaves, sweaters, and SOUP!  I just cannot eat soup in the summer when it’s 90+ degrees, but it is one of my favorite foods.  This chicken tortilla soup is so easy to throw together, and it cooks in the crockpot all day while you’re busy at work, raking up those fall leaves, shoveling your driveway, or just feeling too lazy to do much cooking.  This makes a lot of soup…we had enough for dinner for the husband, a friend, and myself the first night, and enough for one bowl each the second night.  You must give this a try!

Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup
Points+:  6 (6 servings)

1 pound shredded, cooked chicken
1 (15 ounce) can petitie diced tomatoes
1 (10 ounce) can enchilada sauce
1 medium onion, chopped
1 (4 ounce) can chopped green chile peppers
2 cloves garlic, minced
4 cups (32 ounce carton) chicken broth
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon chili powder
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1 bay leaf
1 (15 ounce) can black beans, rinsed and drained
1 (10 ounce) package frozen corn

Place chicken, tomatoes, enchilada sauce, onion, green chiles, and garlic into a slow cooker. Pour in chicken broth, and season with cumin, chili powder, salt, pepper, and bay leaf. Stir in black beans and corn. Cover, and cook on Low setting for 6 to 8 hours or on High setting for 3 to 4 hours.

Source:  Adapted from Allrecipes

One thought on “Chicken Tortilla Soup

  1. I feel the same way about fall and soup. In fact I just made a pot of wild rice soup.

    I have a recipe I like for tortilla soup but it doesn’t have a can of enchilada sauce in it. That sounds like a great addition!

Leave a comment